Excersize III

This week’s exercise was fairly simple, working with found elements. Although it does limit what you can do, it certainly makes for interesting results.

The Task: Using a random Wikipedia article as a band name, an exerpt from a random quote, and a random image from Wikimedia commons, we had to combine the 3 elements to make an album cover.

The Problem: The picture was more difficult to work with, taken of a cemetery on a side angle.

The Strategy: Work with what you’ve got.

The Result:

The band name that Wikipedia chose for me was “Challacombe” which is the name of a small village in England, literally meaning “cold valley”. And I’m off to a wonderful start.
My random quote was from Mark Twain: “It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.” We had to use the last 4 or 5 words, but I just went with “Remove all doubt”.
It actually sounds kind of epic…until I put in the cemetery image “Carmes Riberolles”, I think its in France? Then it leaned more towards the morbid.
Maybe it’s a death metal band.

Typeface source: fontspace.com – I did a search for “runic”.

The mosaic background is just some more bricks from another part of the picture, filtered to look like stained glass in Illustrator. The text was supposed to look like it was carved into the building, I think it just needs some perspective warping. And possibly some transparency effects.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment